Four Vietnamese in ASEAN’s best players’ list

December 11, 2017 - 08:00

Sport website, Four Four Two, has mentioned four Vietnamese names in its list of 25 best ASEAN players.

Striker Nguyễn Anh Đức is one of Vietnamese listed as ASEAN best players by Four Four Two. — Photo
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — Sport website, Four Four Two, has mentioned four Vietnamese names in its list of 25 best ASEAN players.

The website highlighted midfielders Lương Xuân Trường, Đinh Thanh Trung, and Nguyễn Văn Quyết, and striker Nguyễn Anh Đức.

According to experts, Trường who is playing for Gangwon FC in South Korea has bags of potential and could be among the players that lifts the perennial underachiever tag the Vietnamese team have attracted in domestic competitions.

Trường, 22, is a regular member of the Việt Nam senior team and also a part of the squad that will compete at the 2018 AFC U23 Championship.

Trung is a consistent performer for both club and country for many years; the past season was arguably the pint-sized creator’s best yet.

The 29-year-old player is captain of his Quảng Nam FC, which just won the V.League trophy last month. He was also rewarded the V.League’s Best Player title earlier this month.

Quyết, captain of the national senior squad, has already accomplished a lot in his career, including leading Hà Nội FC to V-League titles in 2013 and 2016 and to the quarter-finals of the 2014 AFC Cup.

At the international level, the 26-year-old was part of Việt Nam when it reached the semi-finals of both the 2014 and 2016 Suzuki Cups without quite managing to take that final step.

Đức boasts of one of the most stellar scoring records in Southeast Asia, having netted 180 goals in 330 appearances for club side, Becamex Bình Dương FC.

With 17 goals in the V.League 2017, he was the best scorer of the tournament and the first local-born top scorer in over 15 years. Turning 32 in October, he is clinical in the box and also stellar in the air.

The website also mentions other players such as Aung Thu of Myanmar, Matt Jurman of Australia, Chanathip Songkrasin from Thailand, and Samsul Arif of Indonesia. — VNS