Wednesday, December 2 2020


Asian Cup champions set for bumper payday

Update: January, 04/2019 - 09:00
Australia won the Asian Cup 2015. — Photo
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — The champions of the upcoming Asian Cup will win a cool US$5 million, according to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC).

The AFC will also reward the runner-up $3 million, and two second runner-up teams $1 million.

The prize money for the winners tops that of the Africa Cup of Nations 2017 by $1 million, though is dwarfed by the 25.5 million euros ($29 million) secured by Portugal for winning the 2016 European Championships.

The Asian Cup will start on January 5, with Việt Nam in Group D with Iran, Iraq and Yemen.

The ASEAN Football Federation Cup champions will meet Iraq on January 8, Iran on January 12 and Yemen on January 16. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: