Monday, May 23 2022


23 more artefacts recognised as VN national treasures

Update: December, 29/2021 - 07:46

HÀ NỘI — Deputy Prime Minister Vũ Đức Đam has signed a decision to recognise 23 more artefacts as national treasures.

Most of the newly recognised national treasures are now kept in museums across the country.

They include a Gia Phú bronze drum belonging to the Đông Sơn culture dating back to the second and third centuries B.C. and Giồng Lớn golden masks of the first and third centuries B.C., which are at museums in Lào Cai and Bà Rịa-Vũng Tàu provinces, respectively.

Gia Phú bronze drum belonging to Đông Sơn culture is recognised as a national treasure. — Photo courtesy of Lào Cai Provincial Museum

A statue of God Vishnu Bình Hòa from the 6th-7th century, a Gò Thành collection of elephant-shaped gold leaves from the 6th-8th centuries, a Mỹ Sơn pedestal at the Mỹ Sơn World Cultural Heritage Site in Quảng Nam Province, and An Biên collection of white-glazed porcelain, among others, also earned the national treasure title.

Another recognised treasure is the collection of sketches of the Vietnamese National Emblem by painter Bùi Trang Chước.

The collection, painted during 1953-1955, is now kept at the National Archives Center, the State Records Management and Archives Department of Việt Nam.

Collection of sketches of the Vietnamese National Emblem by painter Bùi Trang Chước. VNA/VNS Photo

Notably, Quảng Ninh Province has the most recognised artefacts, with four treasures, including an An Sinh brown pattern ceramic bucket from the 13th century, brown ceramic jars of the Trần Dynasty in the 13th-14th century, ceramic vase painted with many colours from the 15th century and bronze jar of Đông Sơn culture in the 2nd - 3rd centuries B.C.

An object is recognised as a national treasure when it has significant value in terms of culture and history and will be protected and stored by the Government. 

The Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Chairmen of People’s Committees of provinces holding national treasures, and heads of ministry-level agencies are required to manage national treasures in line with legal regulations on cultural heritages within their authority.

Since 2012, as many as 238 objects and groups of artifacts have been recognised as national treasures. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: