Tuesday, March 31 2020


Two new expressways to be built in Cửu Long Delta

Update: February, 22/2020 - 08:00


The Cửu Long (Mekong)  Delta will have two new expressways connected to the North-South expressway.  — Photo Tuoitre.vn

HCM CITY — The Ministry of Transport has directed the Cửu Long Corporation for Investment Development and Project Management of Infrastructure (CIPM) to do a pre-feasibility study for two expressway projects in the Cửu Long (Mekong) delta.

The two projects include the Châu Đốc -Cần Thơ -Sóc Trăng expressway and Hà Tiên- Rạch Giá- Bạc Liêu expressway with total estimated investment of more than VNĐ67.4 trillion (US$2.9 billion).

The two expressways will be connected with the North-South expressway.

Minister of Transport Nguyễn Văn Thể told Tuổi Trẻ (Youth) newspaper that after the CIPM completes the pre-feasibility study, the ministry will submit it to the Prime Minister for approval and then submit it to the National Assembly under the public investment plan for the 2021-2026 period.

The Hà Tiên- Rạch Giá- Bạc Liêu expressway will pass through Hà Tiên Town in Kiên Giang Province, Long Mỹ commune in Hậu Giang Province, and Sóc Trăng and Bạc Liêu provinces.

The new expressway will have a total length of 225km and will be 17m in width with four lanes. The speed limit will be 80km per hour.

Trần Văn Thi, general director of CIPM, said the project would upgrade the transport infrastructure of the Mekong Delta and assist import and export activities with Cambodia.

The total investment of the first phase is VNĐ33.2 trillion (US$1.4 billion)

The first stage of the Châu Đốc- Cần Thơ-Sóc Trăng expressway project will have a length of 154km and be 17m in width with four lanes. The speed limit will be 80km per hour.

The expressway will be 24.75m wide with four lanes and have a speed limit of 100km to 120km per hour after the final stage is completed.

The two new expressways are expected to promote socio-economic development in Cửu Long (Mekong) provinces. — VNS



  • Tags:

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: