Saturday, December 5 2020


HBSO offers Ballet Kiều, chamber music this week

Update: July, 22/2020 - 07:45
Ballet Kiều, a co-production of the Việt Nam Dancers Association and HBSO, will return to the stage of HCM City Opera House on July 23 and 24. Photo courtesy of HBSO 

HCM CITY – The HCM City Ballet and Symphony Orchestra and Opera (HBSO) will stage Ballet Kiều on July 23 and 24, and a chamber music concert on July 25.

Ballet Kiều, a co-production of the Việt Nam Dancers’ Association and HBSO, will return to the stage of HCM City Opera House after its successful premiere on June 20.

The work, based on Truyện Kiều (The Tale of Kiều), the 18th century masterpiece by the great poet Nguyễn Du, is written and directed by choreographer Tuyết Minh, a pioneer in popularising contemporary dance.

Ballet Kiều highlights the fate of women in feudal society and their aspiration for love and happiness through the character Thúy Kiều, a beautiful and talented young woman who sacrificed herself to save her father and younger brother from prison.

The work’s dance is co-choreographed by Minh and Nguyễn Phúc Hùng, and its music is composed by Việt Anh and Chinh Ba.

The performance features leading dancers like Meritorious Artists Hoàng Yến, Phi Điệp and Đức Nhuận, together with young dancers Kim Tuyền, Khang Ninh and Sùng A Lùng, and HBSO dancers.

Violinist Tăng Thành Nam will perform at a chamber music concert at the Opera House in HCM City on July 25. Photo courtesy of HBSO

On July 25, ten Vietnamese leading soloists such as Meritorious Artist Nguyễn Tấn Anh, Tăng Thành Nam and Lê Minh Hiền will offer an evening of chamber music at the opera house.

The HBSO String Orchestra will take part in the concert.

The repertoire includes String Sonata Number 1 in G Major written by Italian composer Gioachino Rossini, and Guillaume Tell: Duo Brilliante for flute, oboe, and piano by French composers Jules Demersseman and Felix Charles Berthelemy.

The concert will also include Trio for Flute, Clarinet and Bassoon by German flutist and composer Kaspar Kummer, and Piano Quintet in F Minor, op 34 by German composer Johannes Brahms.

All events will begin at 8pm. The Opera House is at 7 Lam Sơn Square in District 1.

Tickets are available at the venue and at — VNS



Send Us Your Comments:

See also: