Saturday, August 15 2020


VN architect wins Asia prize

Update: November, 14/2016 - 16:55
Architect Hoàng Thúc Hào in an interview at one of his design. Photo
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — Vietnamese architect Hoàng Thúc Hào has recently became the first Vietnamese person to receive the SIA-Getz Architecture Prize for Emergent Architecture in Asia.

The prize was introduced by the Singapore Institute of Architects and Getz Bros. & Co. (Singapore) in 2005. Till date, the award has drawn entries from over 10 countries and territories within Asia.

Hào, (from Hà Nội-based 1+1>2 International Architecture JSC), the sixth recipient of the prestigious award, was presented his prize medallion by Grace Fu, minister for culture, community & youth, at an award presentation ceremony at The Star Performing Arts Centre on November 11.

Inside the Cẩm Thanh Community House in Quảng Nam Province designed by Hoàng Thúc Hào. Photo

The award’s jury panel selected Hào as the laureate for 2016 for his distinct architectural philosophy and the significance of his works. The jury found Hào’s cultural sustainability philosophy impressive.

“We felt Mr Hào’s work is a great example of how architecture can be contextual and yet liberating for the underprivileged. It goes beyond building sustainability, in that he addresses cultural sustainability in his works, an aspect often neglected in developing economies,” Richard Ho, chair of the panel, said.

“I am honoured to be the laureate for the SIA-Getz Architecture Prize 2016. I see this award as recognition of my work among the underprivileged and rural communities. Many parts of Asia are still rural and underdeveloped. I do hope that more architects will step up to bring creative and sustainable solutions to the architectural needs of rural and underprivileged communities,” Hào said at the award ceremony.

A photo of Cẩm Thanh Community House in Quảng Nam Province designed by Hoàng Thúc Hào. Photo

Hào’s file submitted to the jury this year comprises of his works completed in the past 10 years, namely the National Happiness Centre in Bhutan, Lũng Luông Primary School (Việt Nam’s northern province of Thái Nguyên), Suối Rè Community House (VN’s northern province of Hòa Bình), Cẩm Thanh Community House (VN’s central province of Quảng Nam) and Nậm Đăm Homestay Village (VN’s northern province of Hà Giang).

The laureates for 2006, 2008 and 2010 are Chan Soo Khian (Singapore), Dr Hitoshi Abe (Japan), and Wong Mun Summ and Richard Hassell (Singapore), respectively.

The biennial SIA-Getz Architecture Prize for Emergent Architecture in Asia honours an architect who has significantly contributed to the progress of architecture in Asia.

In the last decade, Asia has seen an overwhelming rate of development, and this is beginning to have an impact on the history of architecture as well as its future. It is therefore an opportune time to recognise and promote emergent Asian architects and architecture, much as the Pritzker Prize has for the worldwide community of architects. – VNS


Send Us Your Comments:

See also: