Friday, May 7 2021


PM Nguyễn Xuân Phúc chairs rehearsal for GMS-6, CLV-10 Sub-region Summit

Update: March, 28/2018 - 09:00
The Prime Minister inspected venues for the activities within the framework of GMS-6 and CLV-10. — VNA/VNS Photo Thống Nhất
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — Prime Minister Nguyễn Xuân Phúc chaired a rehearsal of activities of the sixth Greater Mekong Sub-region Summit (GMS-6) and the 10th Cambodia-Laos-Việt Nam Development Triangle Summit (CLV-10) in Hà Nội yesterday. 

The Prime Minister inspected venues for the activities within the framework of the events, including the GMS Senior Officials’ Meeting, the GMS Business Summit, the sixth GMS Retreat, the GMS-6, the CLV-10, and the Gala Dinner. 

The Government leader said the GMS-6 and CLV-10 were among the biggest multilateral events hosted by Việt Nam in 2018. They would be opportunities for the GMS leaders to discuss measures to boost investment co-operation, regional connectivity, trade promotion, and sustainable management and use of natural resources. 

"This is also a chance for Việt Nam to reiterate its commitments and contributions to the Mekong co-operation mechanisms in general and in the GMS, CLV in particular, while boosting regional co-operation to serve its socio-economic development goals," he said. 

The PM urged subcommittees, secretariat and relevant ministries to ensure thorough preparations for the events in terms of organisation work, protocol, press conferences, logistics, security, health care, in line with the practices of the GMS and CLV summits in an effective and saving manner. 

The events should show international friends Việt Nam’s hospitality and potential, as well as the beauty of Vietnamese people, while giving Vietnamese people an insight of the significance of the conferences, he noted. 

Themed "Leveraging 25 years of co-operation and building an integrated, sustainable and prosperous GMS", the summit aims to celebrate the 25th founding anniversary of the GMS Programme and define co-operation orientations to build a region of prosperity, integration and sustainable development. 

GMS was established in 1992 as an initiative of the Asian Development Bank (ADB). The GMS Programme is the most complete co-operation programme that involves Việt Nam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Myanmar, and China’s Yunnan and Guangxi provinces. Priority fields include infrastructure development, energy, telecommunications, tourism, trade-investment, human resources, and the environment.

Meanwhile, the CLV-10 is meant to review the implementation of the Master Plan for Socio-Economic Development of the CLV Development Triangle Area for 2010-20 and discuss co-operation orientations in the coming time, especially seeking to increase the trilateral economic connectivity. 

The CLV Development Triangle Area was established in 1999, covering Việt Nam’s Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Đắk Lắk, Đắk Nông provinces; Laos’ Sekong, Attapeu and Salavan provinces; and Cambodia’s provinces of Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri. In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Việt Nam’s Bình Phước Province, Cambodia’s Kratie Province, and Laos’ Champasak Province to the area. Its co-operation focuses on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry, agriculture, trade, investment and environmental protection. — VNS 


Send Us Your Comments:

See also: