Friday, April 16 2021


NA approves appointment of 12 new ministers, Gov’t members

Update: April, 08/2021 - 15:06


NA Chairman Vương Đình Huệ presented flowers to congratulate newly-elected Minister of National Defence Phan Văn Giang. — VNA/VNS Photo  

 HÀ NỘI — The National Assembly (NA) on Thursday morning adopted a resolution approving the Prime Minister’s proposal to appoint 12 new ministers and Government members for the 2016 – 21 tenure.

Senior Lieutenant General Phan Văn Giang, member of the Standing Board of the Central Military Commission, Chief of the General Staff of the Việt Nam People’s Army and Deputy Minister of National Defence, was appointed Minister of National Defence.

Permanent Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Bùi Thanh Sơn; Deputy Minister of Home Affairs Phạm Thị Thanh Trà; Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Lê Minh Hoan; Deputy Minister of Construction Nguyễn Thanh Nghị; and Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Nguyễn Văn Hùng were also named leaders of their respective ministries.

Vice President and Secretary General of the Việt Nam Fatherland Front Central Committee Hầu A Lềnh was assigned to serve as Minister and Chairman of the Committee for Ethnic Minority Affairs; Permanent Vice Chairman of the Government Office Trần Văn Sơn is now Minister and Chairman of the Government Office; Auditor General of the State Audit Office Hồ Đức Phớc has become Minister of Finance; Director of the Việt Nam National University, Hà Nội Nguyễn Kim Sơn is now Minister of Education and Training; Vice Chairman of the Party Central Committee’s Publicity and Education Commission Nguyễn Hồng Diên has become Minister of Industry and Trade; and Secretary of the Nam Định provincial Party Committee and head of the NA deputies’ delegation of Nam Định Đoàn Hồng Phong is now Inspector General of the Government Inspectorate.

Nine ministerial posts remain unchanged, which are the Minister of Health, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment, Minister of Information and Technology, Minister of Justice, Minister of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs, Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Investment and Planning, Minister of Transport, and Minister of Public Security.

The resolution took effect upon the NA’s approval.  — VNS


Send Us Your Comments:

See also: