Friday, July 20 2018


Ha Noi alters regional master plan

Update: November, 22/2012 - 14:34

HA NOI (VNS)-- The government will expand the Ha Noi region to nine provinces with a total area of 24,300 square kilometres, according to a new prime ministerial decision on adjusting the master plan for the capital region to 2030 with a vision to 2050.

The expanded region will include Vinh Phuc, Bac Ninh, Hai Duong, Hoa Binh, Thai Nguyen and Phu Tho provinces, which have an estimated population of 17 million people.

The region is expected to become one of Southeast Asia's economic focal points by 2050 with high-quality urban areas and a favourable and sustainable investment environment. It will also be a centre for politics, culture and history, sciences, education and training and tourism.

Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung asked relevant sectors to evaluate the feasibility of building more industrial and high-tech parks and spaces for regional tourism services in the region.

That evaluation will provide a basis for the sectors to make predictions about economic growth, society, population, labour and land, furthering the urbanisation process and socio-economic development in each area.

He also asked sectors to research how many people migrated in and out of the region so they could propose measures to reduce the capital's overcrowdedness.

The public transport system in the inner region will include an urban railway system, buses traveling between the city centre and surrounding urban areas and an international and domestic airport system.

Relevant sectors will also develop new regional centres for education and healthcare. -- VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: