VFF announces 30 players for Vinaphone Cup 2018

Update: July, 20/2018 - 19:00
National star: Goalkeeper Bùi Tiến Dũng. - Photo
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — The Việt Nam Football Federation (VFF) yesterday announced the list of 30 U23 footballers in preparation for the International Vinaphone Cup 2018, to be held at Mỹ Đình National Stadium from August 3 to 7.

Among them, four players aged over 23 were selected by head coach Park Hang-seo as per the rules of the Olympic-style tournament.

The team will gather in Hà Nội on Monday to train before the tournament, and Bình Dương before heading to the Asian Games (ASIAD) on August 11.  

The tournament is sponsored by Việt Nam Posts and Telecommunications Group (VNPT).

Speaking at the announcement ceremomy, Lê Hoài Anh, secretary in chief of VFF said this was the first time VNPT had worked with VFF as the main sponsor of an international football event.

“This tournament is a significant chance for the U23 team to play before ASIAD 18, held in Indonesia,” he said.

Head coach Park Hang-seo noted the importance of this tournament, “In this tournament, I will give an opportunity to all players, and evaluate their potential before making the final decision. ASIAD is totally different from the final round of Asia U23. All teams are allowed to use three players aged over 23, so they will be much stronger than Asia U23. Our first goal is to win in the qualification round.”

Besides U23 Việt Nam, the tournament also has 3 visiting teams including U23 Oman, U23 Palestine and defending Asian champions U23 Uzbekistan.

List of Việt Nam’s U23 team

Goalkeepers: Nguyễn Văn Hoàng (Sài Gòn FC), Bùi Tiến Dũng (FLC Thanh Hóa), Đặng Văn Lâm (Hải Phòng). 

Defenders: Huỳnh Tấn Sinh (Quảng Nam FC), Trần Đình Trọng, Đỗ Duy Mạnh, Nguyễn Thành Chung, Đoàn Văn Hậu (Hà Nội FC), Bùi Tiến Dũng, Trịnh Văn Lợi (Hải Phòng).

Midfielders: Phạm Đức Huy, Đỗ Hùng Dũng (Hà Nội FC), Lương Xuân Trường, Triệu Việt Hưng, Lê Phạm Thành Long (Hải Phòng), Nguyễn Phong Hồng Duy, Vũ Văn Thanh, Lê Văn Sơn (HAGL), Hoàng Minh Tuấn (Nam Định), Phạm Xuân Mạnh (SLNA), Nguyễn Trọng Đại (Viettel).

Strikers: Nguyễn Văn Quyết (Hà Nội FC), Nguyễn Quang Hải (Hà Nội FC), Nguyễn Văn Toàn, Nguyễn Công Phượng (HAGL), Hà Đức Chinh (SHB Đà Nẵng), Nguyễn Anh Đức, Nguyễn Tiến Linh (B.Bình Dương), Trần Minh Vương (HAGL), Phan Văn Đức (SLNA). — VNS