New town and district established in Quảng Ngãi

Update: March, 24/2020 - 19:53


A section of the National Highway No 1 runs through Đức Phổ township. The new town was established from the former Đức Phổ district.  — VNS Photos Công Thành 

QUẢNG NGÃI — The central province of Quảng Ngãi has established Đức Phổ District as a new town following a decision released on Tuesday, making it the first town in the province.

The coastal township spams with a population of 150,000 living in eight wards.

The province also announced a new Trà Bồng District by merging the former districts of Trà Bồng and Tây Trà, creating a total area of 760km.q with a population of 53,000.

Administrative authorities of three communes – An Vĩnh, An Hải and An Bình – will be dissolved, merging into one administration management of Lý Sơn Island District, the province said.

The islands, 30km off the coast of the mainland, has total area of and a population of 22,000.

According to the province, rearranging the administration system aims to promote socio-economic development and investment.

The province now has one city (Quảng Ngãi), one town and 11 districts with 1.3 million population. — VNS


Sa Huỳnh beach in the new Đức Phổ town of Quảng Ngãi Province. The area is included in the Sa Huỳnh Culture region(dating back from 2,500 to 3,000 years ago). 


  • Tags: