Decree revises list of citizens eligible for e-visas

Update: February, 20/2019 - 16:00
Foreign tourists visit a rural part of Việt Nam. — VNA/VNS Photo
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI Citizens from 40 countries are eligible for e-visas under a pilot programme according to a Government decree on amending and supplementing the list of foreign citizens eligible for e-visas and border gates that allow immigration by e-visas.

The new decree, No 17/2019/NĐ-CP, on amendments and supplements to several articles of Decree No 7 regulates that citizens from 35 countries are eligible for the programme, including Austria, Iceland, Belgium, Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Qatar, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Macedonia, Micronesia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, San Marino, Cyprus, Switzerland, China (applicable for Hong Kong and Macao passport holders and inapplicable for China’s e-passport holders), Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Serbia and Slovenia.

International border gates Tây Trang in the northern mountainous province of Điện Biên, Na Mèo in the central province of Thanh Hoá, La Lay in the central province of Quảng Trị, Dương Đông Port in the southern province of Kiên Giang and Chân Mây Port in the central province of Thừa Thiên-Huế will also allow immigration by e-visas.

Accordingly, a total of 16 border gates and nine ports in Việt Nam will allow foreigners to enter the country with e-visas. The new decree takes effect within two years, starting this month. — VNS