Friday, July 20 2018


S African development group debuts

Update: November, 30/2012 - 10:20
HA NOI (VNS)— The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will be inaugurated in Ha Noi today by SADC member countries resident in Viet Nam, including Angola, Mozambique and South Africa.

The SADC in Ha Noi will focus on promoting SADC policies within its member communities in Viet Nam and promoting the SADC international agenda of co-operation by identifying key international partners, said Gamiliel Munguambe, Viet Nam Ambassador of Mozambique.

"Diplomats from SADC member states will meet to exchange views and information on various issues to promote co-operation between the group and Viet Nam, as well as with regional economic organisations – specifically those linked to the ASEAN," he said.

The SADC, which was founded in April 1980, is comprised of 15 countries, including Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Madagascar.

The SADC Mission is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through co-operation and integration.

The community has a total population of more than 250 million people and its GDP exceeds US$470 billion. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: