Tuesday, January 28 2020


US musician recalls ‘warm' audience upon return to VN

Update: May, 29/2015 - 08:31
Life of music: Violinist Stefan Jackiw will perform with pianist Anna Polonsky at the 19th Hennessy Concert at the Ha Noi Opera House tonight. — Photo courtesy of organisers
HA NOI (VNS) — American violinist Stefan Jackiw has returned to Viet Nam to perform in the Hennessy concert tonight at Ha Noi Opera House.

The concert's repertoire will include four music pieces. Stefan will have two solo performances, playing Partita by Witold Lutoslawski and Noctune for Solo Violin by Kaija Saariaho.

Stefan will be accompanied by pianist Anna Polonsky while performing Tzigane by Maurice Ravel and Violin Sonata by Casa Franck.

Partita is a masterpiece for the violin and the piano. It contains everything one can imagine in a deeply moving musical work. Noctune for Solo Violin was composed in 1994, and is dedicated to the memory of Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski.

The concert is the first performance by the artist duo in Viet Nam, though they have performed together before.

In 2011, Stefan performed at Ha Noi Opera House with the Asian Youth Orchestra. He liked Ha Noi when he spent a few days here for his first concert. That is why he received an invitation two years ago to play in the Hennessy concert in Ha Noi this time.

"I remember the audience here was warm, lovely and excited about classical music. That is something I love to see," Stefan said.

"Also, I want to see the city, because I spent a really short period here last time, had just a couple of free evenings and enjoyed my time here. I knew that I would be back if I got a chance. Fortunately, I have been invited again and I couldn't say no," he said at a press conference.

The violinist does not come from a musical family. Born in 1985 to physicians of Korean and German descent, Stefan's parents loved music. They usually listened to music together at home and took him to concerts when he was young.

He was given a tiny violin at the age of four, and his parents found a violin teacher for him.

He never thought of doing scientific research. At the age of eight, he knew he wanted to pursue music in life.

Pianist Anna Polonsky is widely in demand as a soloist and chamber musician. She made her solo piano debut at the age of seven at the Special Central Music School in Moscow. She moved to the United States in 1990, and has a master's degree from Juilliard School.

Anna was awarded the Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Award in 2011. She is a Steinway Artist.

Created by the late Wes Benson, the Hennessy Concert Series began in 1996. It was the first of its kind to bring world-class live classical music performances to Viet Nam.

Each year, the series has produced sophisticated and diverse programmes, showcasing the most sought-after artists of the world.

The concert will begin at 8pm at Ha Noi Opera House. Entry is by invitations only. The concert will be simulcast via a giant video screen that will be set up outside for the public. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: