Thursday, August 16 2018


Orchestra to debut new work

Update: April, 05/2012 - 09:21


Two nights only: Japanese harpist Yoshino Naoko will perform today at the Ha Noi Opera House. — VNS File Photo
HA NOI — Composer Tran Manh Hung's latest piece will be premiered at a concert by the Viet Nam National Symphony Orchestra (VNSO) today.

Based on the beauty of nature, the symphonic poem entitled Bach Dang Giang was written to honour the patriotism of Vietnamese people.

Born in 1973, Hung currently teaches at the Military College of Culture and Arts, regarded as one of the most powerful symphony composers.

His piece Le Chi Garden was written for Germany Television and first performed at the Beethoven International Festival 2009 in Bonn, Germany, while his symphonic poem Thang Long Spirit was composed to celebrate the 1,000th Thang Long – Ha Noi anniversary in 2010.

His latest piece will be performed under the baton of conductor Tetsuji Honna, with Japanese harpist Yoshino Naoko appearing on stage to perform Harp Concerto.

Born in London, Naoko is in great demand as a recitalist and chamber musician in Japan. She has won many prizes including first place at the Ninth International Harp Contest in Israel, the Arts Festival Prize awarded by the Japan Agency for Cultural Affairs and the Mobil Music Award for Brilliant Young Musicians.

Two pieces by Russian composer Dimitri Shostakovich and Frenchman Claude Debussy will also be performed at the concert.

The two-night show will kick off at 8pm at the Ha Noi Opera House. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: