Wednesday, August 22 2018


Classical music ushers in new year

Update: January, 07/2012 - 09:26


New tunes: Violinist Tang Thanh Nam and pianist Joo Eun-young will perform at a concert to celebrate the New Year at the HCM City Opera House on Monday. — VNS Photo Duc Ngoc
HCM CITY — The HCM City Ballet Symphony Orchestra and Opera will celebrate the New Year with a chamber music and opera show by South Korean and Vietnamese artists at the Opera House on Monday.

Korean cellist Joo Hye-young and pianist Joo Eun-Young will open the concert with Beethoven's Sonata for Cello and Piano in C Major.

The former returned home with a master's degree from the Vienna State Conservatory in Austria and joined first the Seoul Sinfonietta orchestra and later the Seoul Millennium Orchestra, and has taught at Sahmyook University in Seoul.

Eun-young graduated from the same Vienna school and did her master's at the Moscow Gnessin Academy. She is now a professor in the piano department at the HCM City Conservatory of Music (HCCM).

She will then join violinist Tang Thanh Nam to play the Sonata for Violin and Piano in A Major, a romantic piece by Belgian composer Cesar Franck.

Nam topped his graduate class at the HCCM, and went for a post-graduate degree at the Conservatoire National de Boulogne Billancourt in France. He is currently the concertmaster for the HBSO Symphony Orchestra.

The three along with soloists from HBSO will next play the Sextet Overture on Hebrew Theme by Sergei Prokofiev for clarinet, string quartet, and piano.

In the second part of the programme, chorusmaster Ly Giai Hoa and the HBSO's Opera Orchestra will perform the comedic opera H.M.S. Pinafore (The Lass That Loved a Sailor) by Arthur Sullivan and Gilbert.

The story takes place aboard the British ship H.M.S. Pinafore and is about the love between the captain's daughter and a sailor.

The event will begin at 8pm.

Tickets, costing VND150,000 to VND250,000, are available at the venue at 7 Lam Son Square, District 1. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: