Thursday, December 13 2018


Fourteen countries sign dry port pledge

Update: November, 11/2013 - 09:18
Phuoc Long ICD Port— Photo phuoclongicd

BANGKOK (VNS)— Fourteen countries inked an inter-governmental agreement on dry ports, pledging to create an integrated and sustainable inter-modal transport and logistics system.

Signed on the sidelines of the Asian Ministers of Transport Forum, the agreement builds on the inter-governmental Asian highway and trans-Asian railway network agreements built through the ESCAP platform.

Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Iran, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, the Republic of Korea, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, the United States and Viet Nam signed the agreement, which aims to promote international recognition of dry ports.

This would facilitate investment in dry port infrastructure and improve operational efficiency; it also signals that the region is moving towards more sustainable growth. Dry ports create conditions for the much-needed shift of cargo flow from road transport alone to inter-modal options where road services are combined with more energy-efficient, less polluting alternatives such as rails and inland waterways. — VNS

Send Us Your Comments:

See also: