Tuesday, November 21 2017


LienVietPostBank senior official returns after dismissal

Update: June, 06/2017 - 18:00
LienVietPostBank’s second extraordinary shareholders meeting for 2017 was held on Monday to vote the bank’s senior personnel changes. — Photo ndh.vn
Viet Nam News

HÀ NỘI — Nguyễn Đức Hưởng has been voted to the chairman’s post of LienVietPostBank’s board of directors for the term between 2013 and 2018, after a month’s dismissal as its vice chairman.

The election was part of the senior personnel changes approved at the bank’s second extraordinary shareholders meeting for 2017 held on Monday.

The vote came after the shareholders meeting passed the dismissal of Dương Công Minh from the board of directors’ chairmanship.

At the meeting, Phạm Doãn Sơn was also voted to the post of permanent vice chairman of the board of directors cum director-general of the bank.

Previously on April 26, LienVietPostBank’s first extraordinary shareholders meeting removed Hưởng from permanent vice chairmanship of the board of directors. At that time, Hưởng’s dismissal was aimed at making him a candidate for top positions at Sacombank’s board of directors; however, he then decided to withdraw officially from the list of Sacombank’s candidates a month later.

After the merger with the Vietnam Post Corporation (VNPost) in July 2011, LienVietPostBank is a joint stock commercial bank with the largest network of more than 10,000 transaction offices at all 63 cities and provinces nationwide.

The bank’s total asset by May 31 reached nearly VNĐ148 trillion (US$6.49 billion). The bank posted a pre-tax profit of nearly VNĐ1.35 trillion last year, and the number for the first quarter this year was more than VNĐ470 billion.

As for Sacombank, the market is waiting for its senior personnel changes. The bank is due to organise its 2017 annual general meeting (AGM) on June 30, after postponing twice the AGM that was scheduled for April 28 and May 26, owing to incomplete preparations for electing the personnel of the board of directors and board of supervisors for the new term between 2017 and 2021.

According to the recently announced resolution of Sacombank’s board of directors and board of supervisors for the term between 2017 and 2021, candidates for the bank’s top positions have gradually been revealed.

In addition to the familiar names who are currently leaders of Sacombank, such as the Chair Kiều Hữu Dũng, Vice Chair Nguyễn Miên Tuấn, Nguyễn Văn Cựu, or Nguyễn Xuân Vũ, the list of candidates included two names who were closely associated with LienVietPostBank brand Nguyễn Đức Hưởng and Nguyễn Thị Bích Hồng (candidates for BOD’s independent members), in which Hưởng is a highly appreciated name.

However, after the withdrawal of LienVietPostBank’s Hưởng and Hồng, Sacombank on Monday said that it would nominate two other candidates as the board of directors’ independent members to meet the deadline for its 2017 AGM in late June. — VNS  


Send Us Your Comments:

See also: